Accessibility Site Map
Translate Font

Planning Commission


Public Act 33 of 2008, Michigan Planning Enabling Act
Ordinance. Appendix A – Zoning, Article XXIII. Planning Commission of the Code of Ordinances.

Appointing Authority


There are nine Commissioners, including six of whom shall be representatives, insofar as possible, of different professions or occupations and three ex-officio members will include the Mayor, a City Council representative appointed by City Council and the City Manager.

The Commissioners serve three year terms expiring on August 31.

Meeting Dates and Times
The Commission meets the second Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the City Council Chambers.

January 18, 2024
February 15, 2024
March 21, 2024
April 18, 2024
May 16, 2024
June 20, 2024
July 18, 2024
August 15, 2024
September 19, 2024
October 17, 2024
November 21, 2024
December 19, 2024

Meeting Location
City Hall, Council Chambers
City of Oak Park
14000 Oak Park Blvd.
Oak Park, MI 48237

Prepare and maintain a master plan for the physical development of the City. Review and make recommendations to the City Council regarding adoption of zoning ordinances and subsequent amendments thereto. Review and make recommendations to the City Council regarding special land uses in accordance with Article XIX of this ordinance. Review and approve site plans in accordance with section 1725 of this ordinance. Review and make recommendation to the City Council regarding preliminary plat review of subdivisions proposed under P.A. 288 of 1967 as amended. Prepare and maintain a six-year capital improvements program. Review and approval of proposed public works projects, including the removal, location, widening, narrowing, vacating, abandonment, change of use, or extension of streets, alleys, grounds, open spaces, building, public utilities and terminals. Conduct necessary public hearings as required by law regarding matters before the Commission for review, recommendations or approval. The City’s Planning Commission shall perform any and all acts as required by State law.

Actively Serving Members

The following individuals are active members of this Board:
Joe Brown, Co-Chairperson
Carolyn Burns, Mayor Pro Tem
Michael Eizelman
Marian McClellan, Mayor
Michael Seligson
Howard Tkatch
Gary Torgow, Chairperson
Erik Tungate, City Manager 
Marie Walters-Gill

Staff Liaisons: Kim Marrone, Director of Community and Economic Development
Salam Habhab, City Planner
Recording Secretary: Jo Lynn Williams, Deputy City Clerk

Events and Activities

PC By-Laws

Rules of Procedure
Yes, included in the By-Laws.

Meeting Minutes
Please view minutes on Municode

Public Notices